Book Review: Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Blurb: When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

10818853

Sleepless Points: images

Genre: Romance; Erotica

Length: 356 Pages

Published: 2011 by Vintage

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

Erotic, unamusing, and deeply annoying, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will haunt you, abuse you, and forever be your sin.

I decided to buy and read “Fifty Shades of Grey” because the salesman said this book outsold all seven Harry Potter books!!! So I thought it was going to be good. The rating is also that great. That was why I determined to give it a try.

The opening was okay. However after some of Christian’s dark (and dirty) HUGH secret (?) revealed; I really, really DISAPPOINTED … my soon-to-be-good feeling for this book went to abyss. All of my seem-to-be an enjoyment was poof … gone. I had to admit that some part of the story could still make me laugh (although most of it not in a good way) and some part was also disgusted me … have sex during a period!? … YUCK!!! I thought this book was one of those books that you either loved it or hate it.

iago_reads_fifty_shades_of_grey_by_mad__munchkin-d56lgf8

I found this (Taylor’s) review on Amazon and it could describe my feeling toward this POPULAR-NOT-FOR-ME book:

1. The awful writing: I am not literature snob. However, this book feels like it us on a 5th grade level made to seem better with a thesaurus. It’s repetitive and just plain bad.

2. The non-existent plot: Seriously, nothing happens. They meet, they have sex, they email each other, the have more sex, the bite lips, they have more sex, the end … Just plain boring.

RUN AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!! Another thing is I don’t understand how it outsold all seven Harry Potter books. Maybe that salesman lied to me. Damn him … I want my money back.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

8 Comments Add yours

  1. marysuedies says:

    I liked your review and have nominated you for the Liebster Award!
    https://marysuedies.com/2016/07/28/the-liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sleeplessbookjunkies says:

      Thanks a million. I already answer your questions. Thanks again.

      Like

  2. sheenmeem says:

    I feel like you– disappointed when a book is praised sky high and it turns out to be junk material.

    Like

    1. sleeplessbookjunkies says:

      I think so. If I didn’t get my hope up, maybe I didn’t feel cheated.

      Like

  3. granonine says:

    Haven’t read it, won’t read it. Don’t need it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. sleeplessbookjunkies says:

      You’re doing the right thing. I wished I could have done the same.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheryl says:

    “Holy cow!” I agree it is a love hate kinda book. I’ve seen used bookstores post signs asking people to stop dropping them off. “My inner goddess” did not freak out over this book.

    Like

    1. sleeplessbookjunkies says:

      Maybe you’ll find my book there

      Like

Leave a Reply

