Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Blurb: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

1217100

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimagesimagesimages

Genre: Young Adult

Length: 288 Pages

Published: 2007 by Razorbill

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

It took me long enough to decided to read “Thirteen Reasons Why” because I hated suicidal. I didn’t think it really needed thirteen but one reason … that was you didn’t love yourself enough. So I asked myself why I had to read this book to know the unacceptable reasons why this stupid girl committed suicide since that didn’t make any sense. Despite all that, I decided to read it and that made me rethink about things I (used to) believe. That happened because the story was great and it changed my opinion about person who committed suicide.

When I read this book, first thing that came through mind was suicide for revenge. I bet she wanted everyone on the tapes to suffer like she was but that was not what this was all about. That gave me goose bumps. Jay Asher was brilliant and the way he chose to tell the story was fantastic. I loved the way the story had two narrators especially when Hannah told the story about Clay (it was like they were talking to each other). It made the story flow, not too serious and also made me know what they were doing and thinking in that circumstance which was totally cool.

Jay Asher did the good job when he created those characters. First is Hannah Baker. She was naive, great and brave girl. She loved herself. However, everyone kept pushing her over the edge. She tried hard to trust everybody even though they turned her down. She kept try and try and try, and finally she gave up. That was sad; she was such a poor girl. I also loved Hannah’s sarcasm during the stories telling.

79782033_o

575ba16117b53_b88165098z.1_20160611132153_000_gapj415m.2_1-1bln8b0

Hannah Baker

79782033_o

For Clay, he was a great guy like Hannah said. He loved Hannah and wished that he could help her. I thought Clay had a lot of sense of humors when he voiced his opinions which helped lighten the story a little bit … just a little bit.

79782033_o

DylanMinnette_Nov2013_MariaPeterson-112

Clay Jensen

79782033_o

Finally, it was those who on the tapes. Jay Asher made such characters. They were all doing things that they thought it was funny and no big deal, and didn’t even stop to think what their action might cause the pain in someone life. When it started, it kept getting bigger and bigger like a snowball. However, for this part, you had to read or listen to know all that.

Everything in this book was good … brilliant and made me thinking of Butterfly Effect. I got a lot of things from this book such as thinking before doing anything because you may not know the result of your actions … the repercussions.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

2 Comments Add yours

  1. marryen says:

    I don’t like books about suicidal characters either, but because of your review I am going to add this book to my TBR pile.

    Like

    1. sleeplessbookjunkies says:

      I’ll wait to read the review of this book on you blog. I really want to know what you think when you finish it. Thanks for the comment, BTW.

      Like

Leave a Reply

