Book Review: Fever by Lauren DeStefano

Blurb: Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but danger is never far behind.

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago – surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous – and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion…by any means necessary.

In the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price – now that she has more to lose than ever.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

11112619

Sleepless Points: imagesimages

Genre: Young Adult; Science Fiction; Dystopia

Length: 341 Pages

Published: 2012 by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

This book made my heart ache. Even if the second book of The Chemical Garden Series didn’t meet my expectation, it still moved me. It was as much fun as it was boring. Here were the reasons.

1. The cover of Fever was a clue of what would happen in the book. I had to admit that was a fascinating idea. The name of the book also made me curios at first but after reading it the only thing I could say was, Fever it is. (I also thought that I had a fever when I was reading it. It was because I could hardly know what was real and what was Rhine’s nightmare.)

2. The story had remained its old concept … surviving the cruel world where males only lived to age 25 and female only lived to age 20. Lauren DeStefano had made that world the living hell for female characters. I could see poor Rhine struggled to live and run away from those awful things that always followed her around. Everything in “Fever” looked gloomy.

3. I was also curious that why in every science fiction book the scientist had to be a bad guy. Housemaster Vaughn was so evil. (DeStefano also did a great job to create this monster and I also love the way she built the story for Vaughn’s plans.)

4. I didn’t know whether or not it had a love triangle in Fever since I couldn’t find much of an affection between Rhine and Gabriel. (He was delirious more than a half of the story.) It was also make me miss Linden very much.

5. The story was a very slow paced and sometimes made me bored. (However I was very sure that every little things in this book would have a great impact to Sever.)

At this point, I still didn’t know why I gave this book two stars. I did love it but something in the story made me to not want to give any more stars than this. It maybe because what happened to Rhine or something else. Still Fever was worth it to read … Can’t wait for Sever.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

