Book Review: The Crucifix Killer by Chris Carter

Blurb: When the body of a young woman is discovered in a derelict cottage in the middle of Los Angeles National Forest, Homicide Detective Robert Hunter finds himself entering a horrific and recurring nightmare. Naked, strung from two parallel wooden posts, the victim was sadistically tortured before meeting an excruciatingly painful death.

All the skin has been ripped from her face – while she was still alive. On the nape of her neck has been carved a strange double-cross: the signature of a psychopath known as the Crucifix Killer. But that’s impossible. Because two years ago, the Crucifix Killer was caught and executed. Could this therefore be a copycat killer? Or could the unthinkable be true?

Is the real killer still out there, ready to embark once again on a vicious and violent killing spree, selecting his victims seemingly at random, taunting Robert Hunter with his inability to catch him? Hunter and his rookie partner are about to enter a nightmare beyond imagining.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

17354114

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimagesimagesimages

Genre: Thriller

Length: 423 Pages

Published: 2009 by Simon & Schuster UK

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

I chose to read The Crucifix Killer because the name and the cover of the book and I’m so glad that it turned out to be better than I expected.

The story line was awesome; I loved it. The details of each murder was gruesome and thorough. Even thought the story was so heavy, it was lighten up by speeches and gestures of characters. The Crucifix Killer was the whole package; it made me tense, laugh, and fright. The beginning of the book was so thrill and made me think of the movie name Saw. Yeah, it was just like that. It had captured my interest from the start and next thing I knew I was at the ending of the book.

I loved Robert Hunter. He was smart, handsome, and had a sense of humor. Garcia was kind of like me (newbie and not knowing a lot of thing). I thought he was the most lucky and unlucky person in this book. For Isabella, I didn’t like her and I also didn’t trust her; that feeling bother me since the beginning of the book. The killer was so smart and liked to do things that I didn’t think the killer would do. For me, the smarter the killer, the funnier the book would be. I had to mention this character D-King. He was the bad guy who happened to be the good guy (okay, he was not that good…he was doing bad things but he knew the line he shouldn’t cross).

I know. I know. The review is super short and does not give you much to decide whether or not you should read this book. Tell you what, I have to cut this review short and put my raw emotion in it so I can move on to the second book of this series, The Executioner. It’s that good. If you’re a big fan of thriller book, you shouldn’t miss this one.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

Leave a Reply

