Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Blurb: It’s about the disappearance forty years ago of Harriet Vanger, a young scion of one of the wealthiest families in Sweden . . . and about her octogenarian uncle, determined to know the truth about what he believes was her murder.

It’s about Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently at the wrong end of a libel case, hired to get to the bottom of Harriet’s disappearance . . . and about Lisbeth Salander, a twenty-four-year-old pierced and tattooed genius hacker possessed of the hard-earned wisdom of someone twice her age–and a terrifying capacity for ruthlessness to go with it–who assists Blomkvist with the investigation. This unlikely team discovers a vein of nearly unfathomable iniquity running through the Vanger family, astonishing corruption in the highest echelons of Swedish industrialism–and an unexpected connection between themselves.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

3485045

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimages

Genre: Mystery

Length: 554 Pages

Published: 2008 by MacLehose Press

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

I didn’t know what to say about this book. It was like I slipped into another world. The world that women were abused and the details that put in this book were crucial and violent. It made me feel uncomfortable and scare. However, when I saw the background of this book in Wikipedia … I felt even worse.

When he was 15, he stood by as three men gang-raped an acquaintance of his named Lisbeth. Days later, racked with guilt for having done nothing to help her, he begged her forgiveness—which she refused to grant. The incident, he said, haunted him for years afterward and in part inspired him to create a character named Lisbeth who was also a rape survivor.

So let’s me give you the overview of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo:

1. Part one and part two were really boring and it made me wanted to stop reading and go to bed instead. I was so confused with so many details (about politics, economies, and so on) that Stieg Larrson put in the book. It was too much.

2. Some details were too cruel and I didn’t want to witness it that often. Especially, the things that happened to Lisbeth. It made me think that hadn’t she been through enough already?

3. In each chapters, there were specific details for daily routine like at 9.00 p.m. someone did something. I felt like I was reading diary and it made me bored.

4. When Blomkvist met Salander, the story was picking up and I couldn’t put it down.

5. I really liked Lisbeth Salander. She wasn’t like most heroine. I loved the way Stieg Larrson told me why Lisbeth became Lisbeth. I loved that she could surprise me all the time.

Like I said I liked it and I’ll read The Girl Who Played with Fire because I want to know what’s going to happen to Lisbeth after that ending. It must be interested.

 

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

Leave a Reply

