Book Review: Bad Rep by A. Meredith Walters

Blurb: Maysie Ardin is soaking up the summer before her junior year of college, shopping, hanging by the pool and shopping some more. But when her black belt in spending lands her in trouble with her parents, she is forced to take a second job at a local bar to dig herself out of a deep financial pit.

She thought she’d be miserable. But then Maysie didn’t count on Jordan Levitt, the hot, pierced and tattooed, drum playing bartender who also happens to be very interested in her. And the feelings are totally mutual.

It had the makings of the perfect romantic set up. Boy meets girl. Boy likes girl. Boy has girlfriend? Okay, maybe not.

But attraction is a hard thing to ignore and soon Jordan and Maysie find themselves in the middle of a gossip induced firestorm. Maysie has to learn whether she can set aside her fear of public disapproval in order to be with the one she wants. Or will she let the opinions of others dictate her life and her heart?

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

18146884

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimagesimagesimages

Genre: New Adult; Romance

Length: 362 Pages

Published: 2013 by Createspace

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

This book kept getting better and better every chapters.

I still didn’t know what kept me from reading Bad Rep but it definitely wasn’t a cover. The cover was gorgeous. However, one thing I did know was once I started, I couldn’t stop.

The characters were freaking incredible as well as the story that was built around it.

Bad Rep made me think of this idiom: sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words will never hurt me. Not in this story, their words definitely cut Maysie’s (and my) heart. Those people were scary and cruel. First, I had to say that before the bad rumor about Maysie began, I thought there was nothing in this book except for a horny girl who met sexy/handsome boy and then they were falling madly in love. However after a few (nearly boring) chapters, everything changed and I’d be damn if I stopped reading it.

Well done, A. Meredith Walters, well done.

She had her way with words that bring this story to life and something in her words made me proud of how Maysie finally turned out to be at the end of the book.

Let’s move on to the thing I loved most in this book: the characters.

I will start with Maysie, my idol and my favorite character. She used to have everything she ever wanted in her new life: popularity and her paid to be friends. Then something happened that sent her to the bottom of social hierarchy. She struggled to live past each day. She was very brave because if it was me, I’d hightail out of there. Of course, she allowed other people words to rule her life but still she had the courage to face it with the support of her true friends. Riley, another character I loved. She was a good friend. She stuck up with Maysie. She helped her and did everything that best friend would do. Milla and Olivia, two characters I had to mention because I absolutely hated them and the reasons were all in the book. For Jordan, I liked him but sometimes I was disappointed in his action. I thought it might be because I read this book trough Maysie’s POV.

I loved Bad Rep and wanted to read more and more about Maysie (after everything that happened). I hope A. Meredith Walters will consider writing the sequel of this book.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

Leave a Reply

