Book Review: Too Late by Colleen Hoover

Blurb: Sloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night. Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs. Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top. Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

29610595

Sleepless Points: imagesimages

Genre: New Adult; Romance

Length: 200 Pages

Published: 2016 by Wattpad (Click Here to Read)

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

It finally ended.

To hell with the ending.

Too Late was a promising story gone wrong. However, I had to admit that it was different from the story that I was normally read nowadays which make it was intriguing. It captured my attention from start to the middle of story although the ending, I didn’t see that coming and I didn’t expect it at all.

First let’s focus on the story, it was so mature, serious and graphic. It put two nemesis by nature together: drug lord and undercover cop. Colleen Hoover also put in a girl that would throw you a curve. Another thing to spice up this story was it had three narrators. It meant that there were three sides of the story to tell which made it really hard for you to hate a bad guy since you knew all about him and why he did want he did. Unfortunately, after Chapter 30 or so, I felt like the story was kind of abrupt and it was hardly make sense. Some part I had to read it 2-3 times to make sure that it was what it was and I didn’t accidentally skip any sentences. I really loved the idea of Epilogue for the Epilogue but story itself, not at all. It was too much for me and it had slaughtered Luke (I loved him until that chapter).

For the characters, I had to say that it was really well crafted from the beginning but not till the end.

1. Sloan: I didn’t like her that much but I had to admit the story was somewhat developed around her. I couldn’t accept most of the things she did in order to survive but she could get away with everything since both Asa and Carter loved her. She had past and brother whom she had to take care that could make her be a saint in the story, well not for me at least. For me, she was so annoying.

2. Luke aka Carter: He was a basic romantic hero: handsome man with good heart. He understood you and did everything for you. The type of man who only exists in the novel.  Needless to say, you couldn’t do anything but fell in love with him which I did until the Epilogue for the Epilogue chapter. Spoiler Alert (if you want to read, just drag your mouse over the empty space): I didn’t know how good guy could do such a thing like that so I felt like I was tricked by him from the beginning.

3. Asa: He was the bad guy (whom you couldn’t hate) in this story. Frankly sometimes despite of what he did, I felt for him more than I felt for Sloan Luke. He wasn’t a bad guy here; he was just a victim of love.

So if you decide to read Too Late, brace yourself for some parts of the story (I’ll not tell you which part) and the ending. Just to warn you, no matter how prepare you are, it’ll hit you right in the face. I knew because it happened to me.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

Leave a Reply

