Book Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Blurb: The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. She sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

2767052

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimagesimagesimages

Genre: Young Adult; Dystopia; Science Fiction

Length: 374 Pages

Published: 2008 by Scholastic Press

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

WOW!!! I don’t expect The Hunger Games to be this great. I read it because I watched movie adaptation of this book and its storyline’s similar to Battle Royale. I love Battle Royale so I decided to read it.  After a few chapter, I found that only main plot was the same but less (or no) violent just like in the movie.

Every time I read fight-to-death-in-order-to-be-the-last-one-standing novel, I always wonder why bother killing. If everyone doesn’t try to take each other life, all of them will live … right? It’s a win-win situation. So an author had to make that impossible and Suzanne Collins did an incredible job. Even though, at the end of the game, there might be some problem, mistake or whatever you want to call. Two tributes had been save because they threatened to commit suicide. That brings me back to my hypothesis of why killing. However, after she convinced me with an acceptable reason, it again had been dismissed.

I love the way the author meticulously crafts each character and gives them a role that will move the story. I think the tributes aren’t a bad guy here because they try to survive which is one of human basic instincts. I really hate Gamemakers, though. It’s like they try to play god; they want to safe their face and their asses more than secretly saving the tributes’ lives.

Okay, forget about Gamemakers and focus on our narrator, Katniss. She’s a tough girl who knows many skills that suit for the game by experience. She doesn’t give up and tries really hard to survive. However, at the same time, she doesn’t give in to Capital’s sick and twisted game. She has a kind heart and she even sacrifices herself in order to save her own family. She also has some trust issue (but who can blame her after what she’s been through).

For Peeta, I love him. He’s clever and a real master-mind. At first, I’m doubt about his feeling toward Katniss but then he shows me that his feeling for her is real. He makes me laugh every time he speaks. Haymitch is another character that I like because I like bad ass heroes, drunk but smart. May be drinking is the thing that helps him fool people and makes them underestimate him.

Even if I can predict some part of the story but it doesn’t make The Hunger Games less fun. If you already watch the movie and doesn’t have a chance to read it, I’d like to tell you that read it and you’ll see the full aspect in the story that only you can imagine.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shealea says:

    I am in love with The Hunger Games! The trilogy is actually what pushed me to start reading more YA again. I’m really, really glad you liked it! Can’t wait to hear (or rather, read) your thoughts on the next installments.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sleeplessbookjunkies says:

      Thanks. If you like The Hunger Games, maybe you should try to read Battle Royale. Similar stotyline but much darker.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shealea says:

        I’ll keep that in mind! Thank you very much for the recommendation.

        Like

Leave a Reply

