Book Review: I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder

Blurb: Girl meets boy.

Girl loses boy.

Girl gets boy back…

…sort of.

Ava can’t see him or touch him, unless she’s dreaming. She can’t hear his voice, except for the faint whispers in her mind. Most would think she’s crazy, but she knows he’s here.

Jackson. The boy Ava thought she’d spend the rest of her life with. He’s back from the dead, as proof that love truly knows no bounds.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

1832749

Sleepless Points: imagesimages

Genre: Young Adult; Romance

Length: 227 Pages

Published: 2008 by Simon Pulse

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review (Contains Spoilers!)

pcoA6eoKi

I decided to read I Heart You, You Haunt Me because I wanted to read story that was sappy, and yet strange. The most important thing was it had to be short. This book was fit right in.

First, I loved the idea of the book…ghost of my boyfriend story. The beginning of the story made me sad. I could imagine how it felt like to lose someone you loved and cared the most. For me, I lost my precious person too. It happened when I was young and didn’t know much about death but for Ava, it was different. She was old enough to know that feeling better. That made it harder to cherish the happy memories without feeling the pain in your chest.

However when I read it further, I didn’t like it. The story had a lot of stupid stuffs. Maybe it was because of the characters. They made the story lose its charm which  made me bored. I couldn’t believe that I read it this far. Sometimes the story didn’t reach me. I doubted that Jackson and Ava really loved each other that much. For Ava, it might come from guilt.

I thought Jackson was the one who didn’t want to let Ava go. He was kind of selfish for me. The worst part of this story that I really hate was Ava dared Jackson to jump off the ledge. She should know how dangerous it was for someone to jump from that height. Same as Jackson, He was old enough to think what he should or shouldn’t do. Maybe the author wanted to teach us to think before doing anything reckless that would make you regret it in the future. However, still I didn’t like it.

In the nearly end of the story, Ava was smart enough to learn how to let go. It made me think that this book wasn’t that bad after all. The characters seemed to grow up. Jackson wasn’t that selfish since he wanted Ava to be happy and released herself from her guilt. That was what I wanted. He was helping her to live her life without him (that was so romantic). So let’s say it was a great ending. I nearly cried when read the list Ava wrote.

This book wasn’t that good to make me like it and it was also not bad enough to make me hate it. However, I’d not recommend it to anyone who expected this book to be like P.S. I Love You.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

 

Leave a Reply

