Book Review: Return to Paradise by Simone Elkeles

Blurb: Caleb Becker left Paradise eight months ago, taking with him the secret he promised to take to his grave. If the truth got out, it would ruin everything.

Maggie Armstrong tried to be strong after Caleb broke her heart and disappeared. Somehow, she managed to move on. She’s determined to make a new life for herself.

But then Caleb and Maggie are forced together on a summer trip. They try ignoring their passion for each other, but buried feelings resurface. Caleb must face the truth about the night of Maggie’s accident, or the secret that destroyed their relationship will forever stand between them.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

1322676246returntoparadise2

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimagesimagesimages

Genre: Young Adult

Length: 313 Pages

Published: 2010 by Flux

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review

pcoA6eoKi

No wonder why it didn’t have enough romance between Caleb and Maggie in the last book because it was all in this book. I thought that if Leaving Paradise was about struggle of life, then Return to Paradise would be about how to make one life better. It was really a great book.

Return of Paradise was picking up the story after Caleb left Paradise eight months ago; Maggie tried to move on with her life. However, they finally met each other again on a Re-START trip. This book was not intense like its prequel. It focused on the relationship and feeling of two narrators. Like always, it made me laugh, smile; my heart also ached sometimes.

For the characters, I thought the first half of the book…Caleb was a total jerk (I could not blame him for that after all he had been through). But after that I had my old Caleb back and he readied to fight for whatever he thought was right. In this book, I loved Maggie even more; Return to Paradise showed a lot of good thing in her. She was one of the toughest girls I had ever read. For the people in Re-START trip, I had to admit that I pitied them. However, at the same time, I also respected them for trying so hard in order to make their life better.

I loved this tragic but sweet story. Return to Paradise showed me that people could make their own future as long as they did not give up on themselves.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

