Book Review: 52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

Blurb: Lexington Larrabee has never to work a day in her life. After all, she’s the heiress to the multi-billion-dollar Larrabee Media empire. And heiresses are not supposed to work. But then again, they’re not supposed to crash brand new Mercedes convertibles into convenience stores on Sunset Blvd either.

Which is why, on Lexi’s eighteen birthday, her ever-absent, tycoon father decides to take a more proactive approach to her wayward life. Every week for the next year, she will have to take on a different low-wage job if she ever wants to receive her beloved trust fund. But if there’s anything worse than working as a maid, a dishwasher, and a fast-food restaurant employee, it’s dealing with Luke, the arrogant, albeit moderately attractive, college intern her father has assigned to keep tabs on her.

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

9791906

Sleepless Points: imagesimagesimagesimages

Genre: Young Adult

Length: 352 Pages

Published: 2012 by Farrar, Straus & Giroux

Autumn-Leaves-2-Cropped

pcoA6eoKi

Review (Contains Spoilers!)

pcoA6eoKi

Such a beautiful ending…I didn’t expect that at all. Anyway, I really was impressed by the story and characters in 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. Lexi might have 52 reasons to hate her father but only needed one reason to love him. However, I had 52 plus one reasons to love this book. And here is the 53 reasons and so on…

52 Reasons to Hate My Father wasn’t capture my best interest at the first few chapters. Actually, it was really boring to listen to (in this case read about) Lexi bragging on and on about her incredulous and fabulous life but that was the biggest part of the plot. After that, the story was picking up; it was getting better and better every pages. It even made me fond of Lexi. It also made me harder to breathe and wanted to scream on the top of my lung with her. I knew why she hated her father and I actually hated him because of her (even if I knew that what he forced her to do was best for her). I just felt sad for her. Lexi was just a teenage girl who wanted her father approval and attention which she thought she’d never get. It was bad that she had to grow up in such environment. But soon everything would changed.

Let’s move on to the intern, Luke, since he was another reason why I liked 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. I thought he was adorable and cute. His life had a purpose and he tried real hard to grab it. Those qualities were things that most people wished to have. Rolando was a big part of this book (sadly he didn’t appear in the scene as much as I wanted). He was the reason that I added another point to the book. He changed Lexi’s life and he’d the strange way to see the world. He made bad things weren’t as bad as it looked.

52 Reasons to Hate My Father made me know that everything happened for reasons. After I found out the reason that made Richard Larrabee, Richard Larrabee, I felt so sad for him. However I was also glad that he’d learned from his mistakes and tried to fix it in order to make everything better.

52 Reasons to Hate My Father is a book about family, forgiveness, good intentions, and second chances. So you should give it a chance.

Autumn_Leaves_Decoration_PNG_Clipart

Leave a Reply

